Skip To Main Content

Absence Intervention Contacts

Absence Intervention Contacts

Please review the contacts/resources below if you need assistance with your student's attendance. 

District Social Worker

 

Melina Diaz
Melina Diaz
mediaz@smuhsd.org
Office: 650-558-2272 

Contact the District Social Worker if you/your child need help with the following: 

 

  • Samtrans bus passes to support transportation to/from school  

  • Case management services to facilitate access and linkage to community resources, e.g. food banks, childcare needs, housing resources, external mental health referrals

  • Engagement with a student in the home environment to encourage and support school attendance 

  • Parent/caregiver psych-osocial support through groups/classes, e.g.  Parent Connect 

  • Student support through individual sessions and groups 


Assistant Principals
 

Michael Holtz
 

Michael Holtz, Grades 10 and 12
mholtz@smuhsd.org

Gary Hong

Gary Hong, Grades 9 and 11
ghong@smuhsd.org

 

Lauren Ponti

Lauren Ponti, ELD
lponti@smuhsd.org (Speaks Spanish) 


Contact any Assistant Principal if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Concerns about the attendance letter and notification you received

  • Concerns about the safety or well-being of your child 

  • Issues around consequences due to absences and truancy

  • If you are experiencing homelessness, please contact Lauren Ponti

Family Engagement Coordinator

Neil Urquidez

Neil Urquidez
nurquidez@smuhsd.org (Speaks Spanish)

Contact the Family Engagement Coordinator if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Learn about opportunities for engagement (meetings, workshops, school events)

  • Connecting with school personnel (advocacy)

  • Assist families in understanding our school system (schedules, calendar, Parent Canvas accounts)

  • School and Community Resources


School Attendance Technician

Corina Menendez

Corina Menéndez (Speaks Spanish)
cmenendez@smuhsd.org
650-558-2308 

Contact the Attendance Technician if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Reporting an absence 

  • Obtain pass for student who are leaving school early 

  • Inaccurate data related to attendance 


Mental Health and Wellness Counselors

Diana De Guzman

Diana de Guzman (Speaks Tagalog)
ddeguzman@smuhsd.org
650-558-2376 

 

 

Maria Gutierrez (Speaks Spanish)
mgutierrez@smuhsd.org
650-558-2384 

 

Helen Citrin

Helen Citrin
hcitrin@smuhsd.org
650-558-2362

 

Elena Ortiz

Elena Ortiz (Speaks Spanish)
edortiz@smuhsd.org
650-558-2380 

Contact a Wellness Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Mental health concerns related to attendance 

  • Mental health referrals to Care Solace or other community resources


School Counselors

Alex Chavez

Alex Chavez (Speaks Spanish)
Works with English Language Development (ELD) Students
650-558-2317
gchavezandrade@smuhsd.org

 

Veronica Gasco

Veronica Gasco
Works with 9th Graders / Class of 2029
650-558-2313, vgasco@smuhsd.org

 

Nicole Ellis

Nicole Ellis
Works with 10th Graders / Class of 2027
650-558-2312
nellis@smuhsd.org
 

Jane Zimmerman
Jane Zimmerman
Works with 11th Graders / Class of 2026
650-558-2316
jzimmerman@smuhsd.org

 

Crystal Beltran

Crystal Beltran
Works with 12th Graders / Class of 2025
650-558-2351
cbeltran@smuhsd.org

Contact a School Counselor if you/your child need help with the following: 

  • Concerns about missing days and assignments

  • Connecting students with their teachers on missing assignments due to absences

  • Academic supports including 504 plans, health issues impacting students’ education, after-school tutoring and supports


Health Aide


Shana Scatena
650-558-2322
sscatena@smuhsd.org

 

Contact the Health Aide if you/your child need help with the following: